Two Title Events at Phillip Island Superkarts

press release 18 August 2015

The Victorian Superkart Club in association with PIARC ran two Title meetings at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit over the weekend of August 15 & 16, as part of the August Access meeting.

Racing was broken into two groups, with the 250 Internationals, 250 Nationals, and 125cc Gearbox classes vying for a State Title and the Non-Gearbox and Stock Honda classes contesting a National Title.

For the 250 Internationals, it was Anton Stevens, Gary Pegoraro, Kristian Stebbing and Ilya Harpas who had the pace with Matt Bass hanging on for the spoils. In the end it was Anton Stevens who took the win ahead of Matt Bass and Gary Pegoraro.

In the 250 Nationals it was quite a different story with Jordie Ford dominating the event, clean sweeping all three races, plus setting a new lap record of 1:35.9906 during race two.

Dale Williams fought on and off with young nephew Tyler for second and third spot with Raff Pironti working hard to break up the fight.

Meanwhile a little further back It was Todd Gardner who capitalised on class favourite Garry Haywood’s bad day to take out the win ahead of Jarrod Lethborg and Evan Fuller.

The State Title races were shortened to only three due to a rather nasty 'off' by Nathan Pryor in the Stock Honda class. Nathan thankfully was not injured badly but the precautions taken by the medical staff caused the meeting to fall behind time.

On to the Nationals event....

In Rotax Non-Gearbox Light it was a very dominating Jonathon French from South Australia who took home the silverware clean sweeping all four races ahead of Russ Occhipinti and Shaun Jones. A little further back in the pack it was a variety of drivers who scratched to get on the back of the lead three.

Rotax Non-Gearbox Heavy saw some great scraps over the first five home with the lead and results swapping with each heat. In the end Brandon Stillwell took the win ahead of Jarrod Sanfillipino and vetran Ian Williams.

Stock Honda was the class where the racing was close, and maybe a little too close in the final. All six entrants were hitting the line togeather which made for some great racing and good spectating.

Shortened to only three races due to the big off by Nathan on the opening lap, the end result was Juzzy Ford in 1st, Nathan Pryor in 2nd, and Craig Edwards in 3rd.

The Victorian Superkart Club wishes to thank all our Interstate entrants and the Phillip Island Racing Club for all their support.

Victorian State Titles Result:

Non Gearbox Nationals result:

Stock Honda Nationals result:



kartsportnews promo banner