Tony Kart Sweep The 20th Winter Cup

  23 February 2015

Tony Kart trumped the 20th edition of the Winter Cup, taking victory in all four classes at Lonato overnight. Factory drivers Flavio Camponeschi and Nicklas Nielson won KZ2 and KF respectively, while Christian Lundgaard and Luigi Coluccio piloted the green machines to wins in Junior KF and MiniRok for Ward Racing and Jolly Team respectively.

After wet heats races, the event was blessed with sunshine on the final day. However, once again, a string of post-race penalties arose with drivers returning to parc ferme with a dislodged nose cone.

Kiwi Marcus Armstrong (left) on the KF podium with winner Nicklas Nielsen and Felice Tiene
Above: Kiwi Marcus Armstrong (left) on the KF podium with winner Nicklas Nielsen and Felice Tiene
pic - FM Press

from the official event press release...


The KZ Vice World Champion driver from Rome of Tony Kart Flavio Camponeschi confirmed his great shape after being very quick since the beginning. His main rival in this Winter Cup has been the new entry at CRG Paolo De Conto, last year's winner claimed in fact the victory in the Prefinal, but then had to give up in the Final as he broke the chain when holding P2 right behind Camponeschi. The second place was therefore inherited by Bas Lammers (Formula K-Parilla), while the third position was obtained by Marco Zanchetta at the debut on Alpha -Tm at the end of a good comeback race.

At the end of the race Lammers was disqualified though due to an irregularity on the nose of his kart, and therefore Zanchetta was promoted second, as the Dutch Menno Paawe (Birel Art-Tm) inherited the third place, ahead of the other CRG driver Simo Puhakka and of Lammers' team mate Lorenzo Camplese.

Great race also for the KZ European Champion from Belgium Rick Dreezen (Zanardi-Parilla) who ended sixth leading Nicolas Gonzales (Alpha-Tm) and Luca Corberi (Tony Kart-Vortex), as the latter recouped a stunning 20 positions.

Top ten finish also for the three times winner of the Winter Cup Ben Hanley on the new Croc Promotion, and for Mirko Torsellini on Ricciardo-Tm. KZ World Champion Marco Ardigò (Tony Kart-Tm) was slowed down by a contact with Anthony Abbasse (Sodi-Tm) instead.

Componeschi celebrates his Winter Cup win
Above: Componeschi celebrates his Winter Cup win
pic - FM Press


The Dane Nicklas Nielsen has been the quickest of KF and put in a one-two for Tony Kart together with the New Zealander Marcus Armstrong. The third step of the podium went to Felice Tiene (CRG-Parilla), who managed to have the best of the strong British driver Mark Litchfield (CRG-Parilla), who was eventually disqualified.

The other top positions went to Oliver Hodgeson (Kosmic-Tm), Ben Barnicoat (Birel Art-Parilla), Benjamin Lessennes (Zanardi-Parilla), Juan Correa (Energy-Tm), Pedro Hiltbrand (CRG-Parilla), Leonardo Lorandi (Tony Kart-Vortex) and Nikita Sitnikov (Crc Promotion-Tm).


The Swedish driver Christian Lundgaard won the KF Junior, awarding Tony Kart-Vortex with three wins in this Winter Cup. The fight for the second place was won by the American Logan Sargeant (FA Alonso-Vortex) who proceeded the Finn Paavo Tonteri (Croc Promotion) at the flag.

The fourth place went to the Chinese driver Sun Yue Yang (FA Alonso-Vortex), who was followed by the British Clement Novalak (Tony Kart-Vortex). The first of the Italian drivers turned out to be Lorenzo Colombo, eighth, on Tony Kart-Lke.

Above: Junior podium
pic - FM Press


The Italian Champion Giuseppe Fusco, new entry at team Baby Race, managed to cross the finish line ahead of everyone else in the fourth category of the event, that is the Mini Rok -- single branded Vortex. But he was awarded with a 30 seconds time penalty at the end of the race due to the detachment of the nose of his kart, a very common incovenience in this Winter Cup. The victory was therefore inherited by Luigi Coluccio, also on Tony Kart, run by Jolly Team, who managed to pip Leonardo Marseglia (CRG) in the sprint to the line. The third place of the official classification was obtained by Edoardo Villa (Tony Kart) as Mattia Michelotto (Energy) was also handed a penalty due to the position of the nose of his kart. Prefinal B of Mini Rok was won by Jose Gomez Gutierrez on Croc Promotion.

Above: Luigi Coluccio was awarded the win in Mini Rok after Fusco was penalised
pic - FM Press


kartsportnews promo banner