Neilsen & Sargeant Take WSK Champions Cup

  9 February 2015

The two-round WSK Champions Cup concluded at La Conca yesterday with Denmark's Nicklas Nielsen taking out the KF category aboard Tony Kart/Vortex. Logan Sargeant (FA/Vortex) became the first American to win a WSK event with victory in Junior KF, while Norwegian Dennis Hauger (CRG/LKE) won 60 Mini.

Above: Nicklas Nielsen
pic - Images

WSK press release

Breath-taking victories in La Conca

The stand of the International Circuit La Conca went into raptures over the great performances of the drivers taking part in the final and decisive round of the WSK Champions Cup. All the drivers proved to deserve the participation in a competition containing the word ‘champions’ in its name. At the end of a thrilling racing day, victory went to those who were able to cope with all the adversities, including the bad weather. The drivers, coming from four continents, were all motivated and eager to aim at winning the Cup: the result of this unique mix of ingredients were the breath-taking battles on track, which went live on the Internet thanks to the streaming available on the WSK official website.

Nicklas Nielsen wins in KF

Nicklas Nielsen (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) won the Prefinal and the Final, redeeming himself from last week’s bad performance. Thanks to this double success, the Danish driver won the Champions Cup in the KF category, becoming the winner of the first WSK series of the season.

His most dangerous opponent was the Polish Karol Basz (Kosmic-Vortex-Vega). The Polish, too, had been trying to redeem himself after the poor results achieved in the first round. The driver from Krakow was the runner-up both in the Prefinal and in the Final. He was a tough opponent for Nielsen: the two drivers, in their battle for the leadership, pulled easily away from the rest of the pack.

Above: Nicklas Nielsen (202) and Karol Basz (201) go wheel-to-wheel
pic - Images

The third position, in both the races, was scored by the Danish Casper Andersen (FA Alonso-Vortex-Vega). The third step of the podium was his, even though he finished the Final with a remarkable gap from the leading pair.

The winner of the first round, the Dutch Richard Verschoor (Exprit-Vortex-Vega), did not manage to repeat the same outstanding perfomance and placed fourth both in the Pre-final and in the Final, which is a good result for a rookie. In the Final standing, behind Nielsen, second position for Verschoor, third for Basz..

Above: KF podium
pic - Images

Logan Sargeant beats even the rain in KFJ

The last obstacle of this unpredictable weekend arrived during the Final of the KF Junior category: at half race the last shower of the weekend hit the asphalt of the track. The sun, up to that moment, had been shining on La Conca.

The stewards stopped the race; all the drivers grouped together in a race which was being dominated by the American Logan Sargeant (FA Alonso-Vortex-Vega), the winner of the Pre-final A. Second position, with a remarkable gap, for the Italian Davide Lombardo (Exprit-Vortex-Vega) and third for the Indian Kush Maini (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega).

Above: Heat winner Nikita Volegov, KFJ
pic - Images

Above: Lorenzo Colombo qualified fastest in KFJ
pic - Images

After the restart on wet track, the battle for the top positions started from scratch. The head of the race was a matter between the Russian Bogdan Fetisov (Tony kart-Parilla-Vega), Maini and Sargeant. Eventually, in a rather heated finale, the American won beating Maini into secondd position, while the third place was scored by the surprising chinese Sun Yue Yang (FA Alonso-Vortex-Vega).

The Brazilian Drugovich (Kosmic-Vortex-Vega), the winner of the Prefinal B, was cut out of the battle for the top positions. Poor performance also for Christian Lundgaard (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega), who dropped back to the last positions of the Prefinal A because of an electric issue. Despite an extraordinary recovery in the Final, the Danish lost the leadership leaving the victory of the series to Sargeant. Drugovich scored the third position.

Above: KFJ podium
pic - Images

Dennis Hauger is the winner of the 60 Mini

The Norwegian Dennis Hauger (CRG-LKE-Vega), thanks to a thrilling victory achieved on the last lap, won the Champions Cup in the 60 Mini. The Norwegian driver beat the Italian Leonardo Marseglia (CRG-LKE-Vega), after a tough duel which lasted all the race. Marseglia, who had won the Prefinal, kept the head of the Final almost until the chequered flag. Unfortunately, a contact with one of his pursuers obliged him to leave the leadership to Hauger.

Above: 60Mini winner Dennis Hauger (504) leads Luigi Coluccio
pic - Images

Second position for the Italian Marzio Moretti (Tony Kart-LKE-Vega), third for Rocco Negro (Top Kart-LKE-Vega). The Italian Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart-LKE-Vega), the leader of the standing after the first round, finished only in seventh position, behind the unlucky Marseglia. Coluccio, despite today’s seventh place, is the runner-up of the series, ahead of the Italian Giuseppe Fusco (Lenzo-LKE-Vega).

The next appointment of the WSK Promotion calendar is the WSK Gold Cup, a single round event at the Adria International Raceway at the weekend of 1st March. The circuit near Rovigo, a week later, will host the first out four rounds of the WSK Super Master Series.

Above: 60Mini podium
pic - Images


kartsportnews promo banner