WSK Champions Cup Decided This Sunday

  6 February 2015

The first WSK champions for 2015 will be awarded in Muro Leccese this Sunday in the second and last round of the WSK Champions Cup. Verschoor (NL - Exprit-Vortex KF), Lundgaard (DK - Tony Kart-Vortex KFJ) and Coluccio (I – Tony-LKE 60 Mini) will enter the event leading the points in their respective categories.

  • The finals will once again be live streamed on with English commentary!

Above: Leaders ahead of the final WSK Champions Cup round
pic - Images


press release

The final sprint of the first 2015 WSK event live in streaming

The race for the first 2015 WSK title lasts only one week:  the WSK Champions Cup has two rounds on schedule, at the weekends of 1st and 8th February. The Cup is about to celebrate its conclusion, when the winners of the three categories admitted to the competition will be awarded.

WSK international karting had its season-opener just few days ago, at the International Circuit la Conca. The track of Muro Leccese (Italy) hosted the Finals of the first round last Sunday. They were thrilling races, made even more gripping by the changeable weather. The top drivers had to cope with wet asphalt and struggled a lot to keep at bay their rivals.

The current rankings were the results of the points drivers scored in the Prefinals and the Finals: new and promising drivers are going to play a leading role in the next round. They are all eager to fight until the last inch of the 1,250 metre long track set in the most eastern part of Italy, 10 kilometres away from Otranto. The final phase of the Cup on Sunday 8th February will be – as usual – available on the Internet thanks to the WSK Promotion official website

Richard Verschoor leads in KF

The Dutch Richard Verschoor (Exprit-Vortex-Vega) is the rising star of the KF. Last Sunday he hauled himself up to the top of the WSK ranking. He scored 70 points adding up his marvellous victory in the final under the rain and his excellent second place in the Prefinal, behind the Danish Nicklas Nielsen (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega). Verschoor won last year the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy, an experience which launched him among the best drivers of the top direct-drive category. The epilogue of the first appointment baffled many of the protagonists. Nielsen did not follow the correct procedures and he was hit by a penalty which made him drop back to third position with only thirty points. It was a good thing for the Russian Egor Stupenkov (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega), who is now second with his 32 points scored thanks to his second place in the Final. The disqualification, after the race, of other top drivers for not sticking to the re-start procedure - after the interruption caused by the sudden rain – brought the Swedish Emil Skaras (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) to the fourth position, behind Nielsen, with 20 points. The Lithuanian Rokas Baciuska (Energy-TM-Vega) is fifth with 19 points.

Above: Verschoor, KF
pic - Images

Christian Lundgaard swept the board in KF Junior

The KF Junior found its first leader of 2015. Christian Lundgaard (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) leads the pack and he is a new name of the category. The Danish won hands down the Prefinal A and the Final at La Conca. Lundgaard scored all the available points and he is now the current leader with 80 points. Behind him, the Brazilian Felipe Drugovich (Kosmic-Vortex-Vega) and the American Logan Sargeant (FA Alonso-Vortex-Vega), second and third of the Final. They both occupy the second position with 50 points. Sargeant hoped to get a better result after his victory in the Prefinal B. However, the three leaders should keep an eye on their pusuers: the Indian Kush Maini (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega), one of the rookies of the category who, despite his lack of experience, showed to be immediately at ease on his new kart. He is the fourth of the ranking with 25 points. Behind him, in fifth position, another surprising driver: the Chinese Yue Yang Sun (FA Alonso-Vortex-Vega). He scored 20 points thanks to his second place in the Prefinal B, but he got disqualified in the Final where, anyway, he managed to show what he is capable of.

Above: Lundgaard, KF-J
pic - Images

Luigi Coluccio’s leadership is steady in 60 Mini

Also in the 60 Mini there has been a great generational change, with lots of new young drivers eager to take centre stage. The first 2015 leader is Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart-LKE-Vega), who scored all the 80 points available thanks to his victories in the Prefinal and in the Final. The Italian young driver from Maglie kept at bay all the favourites of the race, starting with a top driver such as Giuseppe Fusco (Lenzo-LKE-Vega). Fusco is second with 50 points and can still aim at winning the cup next Sunday. Also the Norwegian Dennis Hauger (CRG-LKE-Vega) performed well and occupies the third position with 28 points. The Scandinavian driver was the winner of a race apart, which took place along with the battle for the first two positions. Behind him, with a gap of only three points, we find the Italian Mattia Michelotto (Top Kart-Parilla-Vega), followed in fifth position by another pair of potential winners: the Italian Leonardo Marseglia (CRG-LKE-Vega) and the Spanish Ruben Moya Lopez (Tony Kart-LKE-Vega): they both scored 19 points at the end of the first round of La Conca.

Above: Coluccio, 60Mini
pic - Images


kartsportnews promo banner